GazetteXtra Print Article Logo URL:

Richey Suncoast Theatre honors actors, others with Charlie Awards

By Barbara L. Fredricksen, Times Correspondent
MICHELE MILLER | TIMES Miguel Rodriguez (as Leo Clark in "Leading Ladies"), right, won the Charlie Award for Male Lead in the Play Division at Richey Suncoast Theatre. On the left is Jason Hoolihan (as Jack Gable), who won the Charlie for Male Support.

NEW PORT RICHEY — The musical Legally Blonde and the comedy Leading Ladies were top winners during Richey Suncoast Theatre’s 2016-17 Charlie Awards ceremony, each show picking up seven awards in their respective divisions.

The Charlies are named in honor of the late Charlie Skelton, who, along with his wife, Marie, is widely credited with saving and expanding the theater after arriving in 1998.

Winners are chosen by a popular vote of those attending the shows. Awards are given in the Musical Division and in the Play Division, as well as a general, overall category.

Musical Division

Male Lead: Ryan Bintz as Emmet Forest in Legally Blonde

Female Lead: Athena Romanski as Elle Wood in Legally Blonde

Male Support: Mitch Gonzalez as Warner in Legally Blonde

Female Support: Beth Phillips as Paulette in Legally Blonde

Male Feature: Tony Carico as Senator Max Evergreen in Nice Work If You Can Get It

Female Audience Favorite: Suzanne Meck as Jolene in Dirty Rotten Scoundrels

Male Audience Favorite: Brian Moran as Dewey, Nikos and Kyle in Legally Blonde

Music Director: Mark Jelks for Legally Blonde

Choreographer: Melissa Smith for Legally Blonde

Favorite Director: Emily Nettnin Earle for Dirty Rotten Scoundrels

Play Division

Male Lead: Miguel Rodriguez as Leo Clark in Leading Ladies

Female Lead: Blake Parker as Meg in Leading Ladies

Male Support: Jason Hoolihan as Jack Gable in Leading Ladies

Female Support: Ashlee Craft as Audrey in Leading Ladies

Featured Male: Bill Schommer as Doc in Leading Ladies

Featured Female: Susan Nichols as Florence in Leading Ladies

Favorite Director: Robin New for Leading Ladies

General awards

Best Sound Guy: Garrett Case

Male New Kid on the Block: Cody Farkas

Female New Kid on the Block: Mariana Sarmiento

The comedy Shakespeare in Hollywood and A Pasco Christmas were also presented.