GazetteXtra Print Article Logo URL:

Hillsborough school district names Teacher of the Year finalists

By Marlene Sokol
Ida S. Baker Diversity teacher of the year Alicia Fojaco was surprised at Sessums Elementary School on Dec. 5, 2017 [HCPS}

Finalists were announced Tuesday for Hillsborough County Teacher of the year and other honors.

Winners will be announced at a banquet on Jan. 16.

The finalists for teacher of the year are: Jennifer Jackson, seventh grade science, Stewart Middle; Alexa Trafficante, fourth grade, Gorrie Elementary; Bonnie Bresnyan, Exceptional Student Education, Lewis Elementary; Nicole Meyerson, fifth grade, Carrollwood Elementary; Lisabeth Leist, math, Steinbrenner High School.

For Ida S. Baker Diversity Educator of the Year: Christine Campbell, School Social Worker, Van Buren Middle; Meredith Mullen, magnet lead teacher, Lockhart Elementary; Jonathan Collier, Varying Exceptionalities, Spoto High; Alicia Fojaco ESE Specialist, Sessums Elementary.

For Instructional Support Employee of the Year: Leonard Snead, head custodian, Lockhart Elementary; Cindy Nunez, kindergarten assistant, Claywell Elementary; Talina Ugarte, bilingual Spanish aide, Muller Elementary; Miriam Velez-Herandez, bilingual Spanish aide, Dover Elementary.