Make us your home page

An '80s masterpiece comes to DVD



U2underabloodredsky Some days, life as an '80s addict can't get any better. Today's great news: U2 will release its 1983 concert film "Under a Blood Red Sky" on DVD for the first time on Sept. 26.

Filmed at Colorado's Red Rocks Amphitheatre, the film is considered the catalyst for U2's surge in popularity after songs from the concert were featured as videos on MTV, especially "Sunday Bloody Sunday."

Previously only available on VHS, the DVD version will have the five previously unreleased songs, 5.1 surround sound and an audio commentary by the director's commentary.

In addition, a new live CD -- also called "Under a Blood Red Sky" will be released, featuring songs compiled from three concerts in Europe and America from that same tour.

Here's the new song rundown on the DVD, according to

  • Out Of Control
  • Twilight
  • An Cat Dubh
  • Into The Heart
  • Surrender
  • Two Hearts Beat As One
  • Seconds
  • Sunday Bloody Sunday
  • Cry
  • The Electric Co.
  • October
  • New Year's Day
  • I Threw A Brick Through A Window
  • A Day Without Me
  • Gloria
  • Party Girl
  • 11 O'Clock Tick Tock
  • I Will Follow
  • 40

Of course, this begs the question: Is "Under a Blood Red Sky" the ultimate 80s concert film? Or was it "Stop Making Sense?" Or maybe "Queen: Live at Wembley."

[Last modified: Wednesday, June 9, 2010 2:37pm]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours