Make us your home page

Frankie Goes To Hollywood returns with 'Sexmix'



Frankie Goes To HollywoodFrankie Goes To Hollywood meant everything to me back in 1985. And I have no idea why. Probably just the right mixture of sexually rambunctious lyrics, stage theatrics of Holly Johnson combined with the sonic magic of producer Trevor Horn. In any case, I was crushed -- destroyed even! -- when they called it quits after just two studio albums.

So imagine the delight to learn that the band on Aug. 6 will release a double CD compilation called Sexmix: Archive Tapes and Studio Adventures, Volume 1. According to, much of the material has been released before, but not on CD.

Among the treasures: a 24-minute Welcome to the Pleasuredome suite, a six-part "screenplay edition" of The Power of Love, a 17-minute overture of Rage Hard, a 23-minute version of Warriors of the Wastelan” and a 16-minute mix of Relax.

* There does seem to be a production problem with the disc, says Eyeballs, so click here for the details. In any case, I want ... no, I NEED this collection. Here's the tracklisting according to Eyeballs.

CD 1
1. “All In the Body”
2. “The Soundtrack from Bernard Rose’s Video of the Welcome to the Pleasuredome Single”
3. “Get It On”
4. “Welcome to the Pleasuredome (How to Remake the World, Completely)”
5. “All In the Mind”
6. “Relax” (International)
7. “The Power of Love” (Extended, Singlette Version)
8. “scrapped”
9. “Holier Than Thou”
10. “Trapped”
11. “Holier Than Thou”
12. “The Power of Love” (Instrumental, Singlette Version)
13. “The World is My Oyster” (In Its 7” Form)
14. “Don’t Lose What’s Left”
15. “Rage Hard”

CD 2
1. “Relax” (Sex Mix)
2. “Later On (From One September Monday)”
3. “Ferry Cross The Mersey (…And Here I’ll Stay)”
4. “Two Tribes” (Keep The Peace, Intro)
5. “One February Friday” (Singlette Version, Part 1)
6. “Two Tribes” (Carnage)
7. “One February Friday” (Singlette Version, Part 2)
8. “War (Somewhere Between Hiding and Hidden)”
9. “One February Friday” (Singlette Version, Part 3)
10. “Two Tribes” (Keep The Peace, Outro)
11. “Warriors of the Wasteland” (Compacted)
12. “Do You Think I’m Sexy?”
13. Watching the Wildlife (Voiceless)

[Last modified: Saturday, July 14, 2012 10:58am]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours