Make us your home page

Queen reigns again with Adam Lambert stepping in for Freddie Mercury



AP photo

Nobody can ever replace Freddie Mercury -- let's make that perfectly clear -- but certainly someone can replace usual substitute Paul Rodgers when it comes to fronting the legendary Queen in concert. And that's the only expectation, I hope, that Adam Lambert was held to when the band began a three-night stay at London's Hammersmith this week.

The UK Guardian has a helpful review of the concert online, and it seems like all went fairly well.

"It's no insult to Lambert, a theatrical pop star in his own right, to say he lacks Mercury's magisterial authority. The late singer still inhabits every one of Queen's songs, and the best Lambert could do was sing them with verve," the paper wrote. "While vocally equal to the crescendos and curlicues, he was unable to compete with Mercury's memory – something vividly proved during Love of My Life, when 1980s footage of Mercury unexpectedly flashed on screen. The crowd's gasp spoke volumes."

Oddly enough, Lambert wasn't on stage for every tune, leaving guitarist Brian May and drummer Roger Taylor to sing a few of the tunes, including One Vision, A Kind of Magic and These Are the Days of Our Lives.

"Lambert was back for the big, primal stompers, audibly growing in confidence as he worked through Radio Gaga, We Are the Champions and We Will Rock You," the reviewer said. "The fireworks and lasers that came with the finale, Bohemian Rhapsody, were appropriately grandiose – how else to finish a terrific show in which no gesture was too overwrought?"

Here's a setlist of the show, according to Queen's official Facebook page:

  • Flash (intro)
  • Seven Seas Of Rhye
  • Keep Yourself Alive
  • We Will Rock You (Fast)
  • ... Fat Bottomed Girls
  • Don’t Stop Me Now
  • Under Pressure (Roger/Adam duet)
  • I Want It All
  • Who Wants To Live Forever
  • A Kind Of Magic (Roger)
  • These Are Days Of Our Lives (Roger)
  • Somebody To Love (part) (Brian)
  • Love Of My Life (Brian)
  • ‘39 (Brian)
  • Dragon Attack
  • Drum Battle / Guitar Solo
  • I Want To Break Free
  • Another One Bites The Dust
  • Radio Ga Ga
  • Crazy Little Thing Called Love
  • The Show Must Go On
  • Bohemian Rhapsody
  • Tie Your Mother Down (Brian)
  • We Will Rock You
  • We Are The Champions

[Last modified: Friday, July 13, 2012 10:48am]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours