Styx, Yes announce 22-city summer tour

6

April

Styx and Yes Summer Tour 2011It's a prog-rocker's dream bill: Styx and Yes are joining forces this summer for a 22-city "Progressive U.S. Tour." The two bands will even switch off on which band closes each night. (How progressive.)

Of course, it's still the somewhat diminished lineup for each act. Styx will have Tommy Shaw, James "JY" Young and Lawrence Gowan (handling vocals for Dennis DeYoung), with occasional appearances by original bassist Chuck Panozzo. Yes will feature Steve Howe, Chris Squire, Alan White and lead singer Benoit David. Keyboard player Geoff Downes rejoins for this tour.

And each band has new albums to pimp. Styx is finishing up Regeneration Volume 2, which will have re-recorded versions of their classic hits (presumably with Gowan on the microphone). Yes will be promoting Fly From Here, a new album that was produced by the legendary Trevor Horn.

Here are the dates announced so far (sorry, nothing in Florida, but both acts were in Tampa Bay already this year): 

  • Tuesday, July 5: PNC Bank Arts Center (Holmdel, NJ)
  • Thursday, July 7: CMAC Performing Arts Center (Canandaigua, NY)
  • Friday, July 8: MGM Grand Theatre at Foxwoods Resort (Mashantucket, CT)
  • Saturday, July 9: Meadowbrook U.S. Cellular Pavilion (Gilford, NH)
  • Monday, July 11: Nikon @ Jones Beach Theater (Wantagh, NY)
  • Tuesday, July 12: Bethel Woods Center for the Arts (Bethel, NY)
  • Thursday, July 14: Verizon Wireless Amp at Encore Park (Alpharetta, GA)
  • Friday, July 15: Amphitheater at the Wharf (Orange Beach, AL)
  • Saturday, July 16: The Woods at Fontanel (Nashville, TN)
  • Monday, July 18: Starlight Theatre (Kansas City, MO)
  • Tuesday, July 19: Verizon Wireless Music Center (Noblesville, IN)
  • Wednesday, July 20: DTE Energy Music Theatre (Clarkston, MI)
  • Friday, July 22: Winstar Casino (Thackerville, OK)
  • Saturday, July 23: Zoo Amphitheatre (Oklahoma City, OK)
  • Sunday, July 24: Verizon Wireless Amphitheater (Maryland Heights, MO)
  • Tuesday, July 26: Red Rocks Amphitheatre (Morrison, CO)
  • Thursday, July 28: Eagle River Pavilion (Boise, ID)
  • Friday, July 29: Chateau Ste. Michelle (Woodinville, WA)
  • Saturday, July 30: Maryhill Winery (Goldendale, WA)
  • Tuesday, August 2: Greek Theatre (Los Angeles, CA)
  • Wednesday, August 3: Shoreline Amphitheater (Mountain View, CA)

[Last modified: Wednesday, April 6, 2011 12:25pm]

Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours

Loading...