Make us your home page

Two John Hughes soundtracks to be re-released on National Record Store Day



pretty-pink.jpgThe Breakfast Club and Pretty in Pink will both get their soundtracks reissued in vinyl on Saturday for National Record Store Day. That's great news ... to those of us still owning a turntable.

Come to think of it, Pretty in Pink might have been the very last vinyl record I bought. And it's still one of the best (if not the very best) Hughes soundtrack of them all. (I also adore She's Having a Baby.) As for Breakfast Club, it could very well be the most underappreciated one. Sure, it has the signature Simple Minds tune, but who can name more than one or two others? 

Luckily, I have the complete lineups here. So have a happy Record Store Day. Wake me when it's National iTunes Day.

The Breakfast Club soundtrack:

1. Don't You (Forget About Me) - Simple Minds
2. Waiting - Elizabeth Daily
3. Fire In The Twilight - Wang Chung
4. I'm The Dude (Instrumental) - Keith Forsey & Steve Schiff
5. Heart Too Hot To Hold - Jesse Johnson & Stephanie Spruill
6. Dream Montage (Instrumental) - Gary Chang
7. We Are Not Alone - Karla DeVito
8. The Reggae (Instrumental) - Keith Forsey
9. Didn't I Tell You - Joyce Kennedy
10. Love Theme (Instrumental) - Keith Forsey

Pretty In Pink soundtrack:

1. If You Leave - Orchestral Manoeuvres In The Dark
2. Left of Center - Suzanne Vega w/ Joe Jackson
3. Get to Know Ya - Jesse Johnson
4. Do Wot You Do - INXS
5. Pretty in Pink - The Psychedelic Furs
6. Shellshock - New Order
7. Round, Round - Belouis Some
8. Wouldn't It Be Good - Danny Hutton Hitters
9. Bring on the Dancing Horses - Echo & The Bunnymen
10. Please Please Please Let Me Get What I Want - The Smiths

[Last modified: Monday, April 16, 2012 3:04pm]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours