Make us your home page

Bay Buzz

The staff of the Tampa Bay Times

And the winners of this year's Hillsborough Hob Nob straw poll are...



So each election season, Tampa's business muckety mucks hold what they call a hob nob that candidates attend for grip and grin moments. The highlight is a straw poll, though the results at times can be pretty divorced from reality because they depend much on how many supporters they can talk into attending. The crowd tends to run pretty conservative as well. Still, here are this year's outcomes, which show just the winners and not runners-up.

County Commission, District 2, Victor Crist
County Commission, District 4, Rick Cochran 
County Commission, District 7, Al Higginbotham 

Circuit judge, 13th Circuit, Group 8, Barbara Twine Thomas 
Circuit judge, 13th Circuit, Group 19, Michael Scionti
Circuit judge, 13th Circuit, Group 20, Laura Ward
Circuit judge, 13th Circuit, Group 34, Robert Bauman
County judge, Group 12, Chris Nash

School Board, District 2 Michelle Popp Shimberg
School Board, District 4, Melissa Snively 
School Board, District 6, Dipa Shah

US House 15, Dennis Ross
US House 17, Tom Rooney 

Governor, Rick Scott
Attorney General, Pam Bondi
Chief Financial Officer, Jeff Atwater 
Commissioner of Agriculture, Adam Putnam

State Senate, District 22, Jeff Brandes
State House, District 59, Ross Spano 
State House, District 61, Ed Narain
State House, District 63, Shawn Harrison
State House, District 64, James Grant


State House, district 70, Darryl Rouson

-- By Caitlin Johnston, Times Staff Writer

[Last modified: Wednesday, July 16, 2014 9:05pm]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours