Make us your home page

Bay Buzz

The staff of the Tampa Bay Times

Hernando Dems elect new leaders



Democrats' calls for change swept Obama into the White House, and a similar approach has brought a new slate of leaders to the Hernando Democratic Executive Committee.

In the Tuesday night election, committee members elected Chairman Clarence "Cy" Wingrove as chairman, Miranda Griffin as vice chairwoman, Donna Depinet-Dasher as secretary, Ray Dolman as treasurer, Kathy Lambert as state committeewoman, and Michael Sullivan as state committeeman.

None are carryovers from the current board of officers. In fact, outgoing party Chairman Jay Rowden lost a bid to become state committeeman.

Wingrove, a former middle school principal whose political experience includes volunteering for a number of state and local campaigns, said he wants to capitalize on the Obama energy and expand the party's reach. For more, read tomorrow's Hernando Times.

John Frank, Times Staff Writer


[Last modified: Wednesday, May 26, 2010 11:41am]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours