Make us your home page

Bay Buzz

The staff of the Tampa Bay Times

Higginbotham selected Hillsborough Commission Chair; Sharpe is Vice Chair



Hillsborough County Commissioners selected returning board member Al Higginbotham as their chairman.

The vote was 5-2, with commissioners Mark Sharpe and Kevin Beckner voting no. Moments earlier, Beckner had nominated Sharpe for chairman, but the board voted against the selection by the same spread.

Higginbotham then nominated newcomer Sandy Murman, who had nominated him as chairman, as vice chairman. The nomination failed on a 3-4 vote, with Murman, Higginbotham and Ken Hagan voting in support. Newcomer Victor Crist nominated Sharpe, and he was approved by a 4-3 vote, with those commissioners who supported Murman voting against him.

Hagan was unanimously selected chaplain.

Among the plum committee assignments, Hagan scored the Tampa Sports Authority, Murman got the Tampa Port Authority and Crist got the Hillsborough County Aviation Authority, which Sharpe had wanted but then dropped his bid. Beckner was picked as Environmental Protection Commission chairman. Murman will join Sharpe on Tampa Bay Water, which isn't considered a plum, but is important.



[Last modified: Tuesday, November 16, 2010 11:48am]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours