Make us your home page

Bay Buzz

The staff of the Tampa Bay Times

Morroni to chair Pinellas commission in 2012



johnmorroni.jpgIt took only five minutes -- not nearly the rigmarole occuring in Hillsborough County -- for Commissioner John Morroni to be unanimously voted chairman of the Pinellas County Commission for 2012. Ken Welch will be vice chair, making him the heir apparent to chair the commission in 2013, if he wins re-election.

But it wasn't a totally settled issue in Tuesday's meeting. Commissioner Norm Roche asked what the procedures were to decide the rotation of chairmen annually and found out: There's nothing in writing.

Instead, Pinellas relies on an unwritten policy that the member with the most seniority who hasn't been chairmen -- but has been re-elected -- gets to serve. That leaves Commissioners Neil Brickfield, Nancy Bostock and Roche waiting until they win re-election to get the largley ceremonial duty.

That process began about 15 years ago after terms when some members never became chair during the days of Chuck Rainey's reign, commissioners said.

"Some people never got to be chair, no matter how long they served," Brickfield said.

[Last modified: Wednesday, December 7, 2011 5:46pm]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours