Make us your home page

Bay Buzz

The staff of the Tampa Bay Times

Penny sales tax passes in Tampa chamber straw poll



A penny sales tax to pay for road improvements, expanded bus service and rail passed Thursday night in a straw poll conducted by the Tampa Chamber of Commerce at its 2010 Political Hob Nob. The event drew well over 350 people and more than 50 candidates. Nearly 250 voted in the straw poll, using ballots that include candidate from all parties. The tax passed with 56 percent of the vote. That's pretty close considering this was a Tampa chamber event and the group is a big supporter of the tax. On the other hand, the Hob Nob drew lots of Republicans candidates and their supporters, many of whom oppose the tax.

Other results of note: Marco Rubio won in the U.S. Senate race: Gus Bilirakis and Kathy Castor won their congressional races; Pam Bondi won in the attorney general's race; Kevin Ambler defeated Jim Norman in the race for the District 12 state Senate seat; Irene Guy won in the District 47 state House seat; Dana Young won in the District 57 state House race; Shawn Harrison won in the District 60 state House race; Trey Rustmann won in the District 1 Hillsborough County Commission race; Victor Crist on the District 2 commission race; Les Miller won the District 3 commission race; Ken Hagan won the District 5 commission race; and Mark Sharpe won the District 7.

In the Tampa mayor's race, Rose Ferlita emerged victorious with 52.1 percent of the vote. Bob Buckhorn received 30.9 percent; Tom Scott got 13.3 percent; Marion Lewis received 3 percent; and Arthur Richardson get less than 1 percent.

Janet Zink, Times Staff Writer

[Last modified: Thursday, September 16, 2010 3:41pm]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours