Make us your home page

Bay Buzz

The staff of the Tampa Bay Times

Tarpon Springs seats new commission




Commissioner Susan Slattery and commission newcomer Townsend Tarapani will be sworn in at tonight’s Tarpon Springs City meeting after easily winning their elections last month.
Slattery, 47, defeated Jeffrey Antous and Tim Keffalas  for retain seat 2. She garnered 58 percent of the vote.
“I’m honored that the residents had the confidence in me to support me for a second term,” Slattery said Tuesday afternoon.
Tarapani, 25, will become the youngest member of the commission when he’s sworn in to hold Seat 1. Tarapani defeated Crissy Cladakis by winning 76 of the vote.
“It feels great,” Tarapani said of tonight’s swearing in. “I’ll be able to represent a younger demographic and provide some fresh perspective of the younger demographic of the community. But at the end of the day, I’m representing the community as a whole.”

[Last modified: Tuesday, April 5, 2011 4:02pm]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours