Make us your home page

Bay Buzz

The staff of the Tampa Bay Times

TBARTA board approves resolution in support of high-speed rail



Members of the Tampa Bay Area Regional Transportation Authority approved a resolution Friday morning voicing support for high-speed rail in the wake of rumblings from the governor and others that the project may not be a done deal.

The two-page resolution also urges the governor and state legislature to support continued implementation and funding of the high-speed rail project. The federal government has approved $2 billion in spending to link Orlando and Tampa.

Members Shawn Harrison, a newly elected state House representative, and Dave Russell, a Hernando County commissioner, voted in opposition. Hillsborough County Commissioner Ken Hagan and Citrus County Commissioner Joe Meek were absent.


[Last modified: Friday, November 19, 2010 11:56am]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours