Make us your home page

Bay Buzz

The staff of the Tampa Bay Times

Tick Tock in Pinellas: Who will really run?



Qualifying to get on the ballot this fall began at noon today. Already some candidates have secured a place. Hopefuls have until noon Friday to either pay a qualifying fee or turn in the required number of petition signatures to the Supervisor of Elections.

Clock The candidates who have paid their fee or gotten their petition in over the last two weeks to prequalify are Clerk of the Circuit Court Ken Burke, Sheriff Jim Coats, Supervisor of Elections Deborah Clark and District 1 County Commission hopeful Paul Matton. SOE challenger Jack Killingsworth qualified today.

No candidates have announced to take on Burke or Tax Collector Diane Nelson. And if nobody steps forward by the Friday deadline, both will coast to another four years.

Announced candidates who still must qualify are Pam Dubov, Ben Friedlander and Frank Gregoire in the race for Property Appraiser; Jeffrey John Del Fuoco, Randall M. Jones, Michael S. Peasley, John Pikramenos and Greg S. Pound in the Sheriff's Office race, Greg Rublee in the race for SOE; Diane Nelson for Tax Collector; Neil Brickfield, Ray Brooks and Jane Galluci for the District 1 County Commission seat; Nancy Bostock, Rene Flowers and Darden Rice for the District 3 County Commission seat; Norm Roche and Karen Seel for the District 5 County Commission seat and Ken Welch and Sharon Russ for the District 7 County Commission seat.

[Keri Wiginton, Times photo files]


[Last modified: Wednesday, May 26, 2010 11:28am]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours