Make us your home page

Bay Buzz

The staff of the Tampa Bay Times

Welch, Burke and Nelson unopposed in Pinellas



District 7 Pinellas County Commissioner Ken Welch, Clerk of the Circuit Court Ken Burke and Tax Collector Diane Nelson are breathing easy. With qualifying having come to an end at noon, no candidates stepped forward to oppose them, so it's four more years for the lucky trio.

In the race for Property Appraiser, there will be a Republican primary between Pam Dubov and Frank Gregoire. Waiting in the general, Democrat Ben Friedlander.

In the Sheriff's Office race, there will be a Democratic primary between Randall Jones and John Pikramenos. In the general waits incumbent Republican Jim Coats and Greg Pound, who has no party affiliation.

With Democrat Greg Rublee dropping out, there'll only be a general election contest for Supervisor of Election between Republican incumbent Deb Clark and Democrat Jack Killingsworth.

In Pinellas County Commission District 1, being vacated by Ronnie Duncan, there will be a Republican primary between Neil Brickfield and Jane Gallucci, a current member of the school board. The winner will face Democrat Paul Matton in the general.

In District 3, where Bob Stewart is stepping down, a Democratic primary between Rene Flowers and Darden Rice is in store. The winner faces Republican Nancy Bostock, a current member of the school board, in the general election.

And finally, in District 5, the general election pits Democrat Norm Roche against incumbent Republican Karen Seel. Jake Mullens, who qualified and is not affiliated with a party, will also be an option for voters in the general. 

[Last modified: Wednesday, May 26, 2010 11:28am]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours