Make us your home page

Bay Buzz

The staff of the Tampa Bay Times

Two qualify by petition for Pasco Commission



Pasco's commission candidates must have an aversion to petitions, or they simply don't mind spending thousands of dollars out of their campaign chests to get on the ballot.

Only two candidates -- Democrat Erika Remsberg and Republican Bob Robertson -- qualified by petition to run for county commission.

With the petition deadline now passed, that leaves the majority of the candidates -- Republicans Mike Moore, Ken Littlefield, Mike Wells Jr. and Henry Wilson -- with the expense of paying the $4,870.74 filing fee to stay in the race.

The deadline for them is a little more than a week away, June 20 at noon. By then it should become clear who's committed to staying.

Robertson and Remsberg submitted enough valid voter signatures -- at least 3,103 -- by May 19 to have their names on the ballot.

The two, along with Littlefield and Moore, are running in the District 2 race to succeed outgoing Commissioner Pat Mulieri, who will step down in November.

Wells is challenging incumbent Wilson in the District 4 primary. No Democrat has filed to run in that race.

The primary is set for Aug. 26.

[Last modified: Wednesday, June 11, 2014 4:42pm]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours