Make us your home page

Bucs Beat

Rick Stroud, Greg Auman and Matt Baker

Bucs' John Lynch again a Hall of Fame finalist



For the fourth year in a row, former Bucs safety John Lynch is a finalist for the Pro Football Hall of Fame, with a chance to be chosen for induction when this year's class is selected Feb. 4.

Lynch, who played for the Bucs from 1993-2003 and made five of his nine Pro Bowls while with Tampa Bay, was enshrined into both the Bucs' Ring of Honor and the Broncos' Ring of Fame this past season. He has made the cut to 15 in each of the past three years and made the cut to 10 last year, but has not been able to join former teammates Warren Sapp and Derrick Brooks and coach Tony Dungy, all recently enshrined.

Lynch had 26 career interceptions and 10 forced fumbles in his NFL career and is remembered as a central part of the Bucs' 2002 Super Bowl championship team.

Lynch has tough competition among the 15 finalists: S Brian Dawkins, OT Tony Boselli, OG Alan Faneca, CB Ty Law, OL Kevin Mawae, RB LaDainian Tomlinson, WR Terrell Owens, DE Jason Taylor, K Morten Andersen, QB Kurt Warner, RB Terrell Davis, WR Isaac Bruce, OT Joe Jacoby and coach Don Coryell.

[Last modified: Tuesday, January 3, 2017 8:33pm]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours