Make us your home page

Bucs Beat

Rick Stroud, Greg Auman and Matt Baker

Bucs' first depth chart offers peek inside coaches' thinking



The Bucs have released their first depth chart of the season, ahead of Friday’s preseason game at Miami.

There aren’t any shockers, as is usually the case with initial depth charts.

Of interest is the placement of running back LeGarrette Blount ahead of Doug Martin, something we expected. Incumbent starters usually aren’t demoted on the first depth chart. Martin, it appears, will likely overtake Blount before the season begins based on his workload in practice.

Other areas of interest include the receiver position, where Vincent Jackson and Mike Williams, as expected, are listed as starters, followed by second-teamers Preston Parker and Arrelious Benn.

At linebacker, the lineup remains the same, with rookie Lavonte David listed as the starter on the weak side. He’s joined by Mason Foster (middle) and Quincy Black (strong side).

In the secondary, injured E.J. Biggers and Anthony Gaitor are listed as the second-team cornerbacks, with Myron Lewis listed on the third team. Cody Grimm is listed as a third-team safety, behind second-teamers Ahmad Black and Larry Asante.

Preston Parker is listed as the top return man on punts and kickoffs.


WR Vincent Jackson Arrelious Benn Tiquan Underwood Wallace Wright Greg Ellingson Landon Cox

LT Donald Penn Demar Dotson Bradley Sowell

LG Carl Nicks Mike Ingersoll Desmond Wynn

C Jeremy Zuttah Ted Larsen Moe Petrus

RG Davin Joseph Derek Hardman Michael VanDerMeulen

RT Jeremy Trueblood Jamon Meredith Jermarcus Hardrick

TE Dallas Clark Luke Stocker Zack Pianalto Collin Franklin Drake Dunsmore Danny Noble

WR Mike Williams Preston Parker Sammie Stroughter Ed Gant Armahd Lewis

QB Josh Freeman Dan Orlovsky Brett Ratliff

RB LeGarrette Blount Doug Martin Mossis Madu Michael Smith De'Anthony Curtis

FB Erik Lorig Robert Hughes Cody Johnson


LDE Michael Bennett E.J. Wilson Jayme Mitchell Da'Quan Bowers

DT Gerald McCoy Amobi Okoye Wallace Gilberry

DT (NT) Roy Miller Gary Gibson Frank Okam Jordan Nix

RDE Adrian Clayborn George Johnson Daniel Te'o-Nesheim Quintin Anderson

SLB Quincy Black Dekoda Watson Brian Smith

MLB Mason Foster Adam Hayward Najee Goode

WLB Lavonte David Jacob Cutrera Rennie Curran

LCB Aqib Talib E.J. Biggers Myron Lewis Desmond Marrow

RCB Eric Wright Anthony Gaitor Leonard Johnson Derrick Roberson Marquese Wheaton

SS Mark Barron Larry Asante Cody Grimm Tramain Thomas

FS Ronde Barber Ahmad Black Keith Tandy Sean Baker

Special Teams

P Michael Koenen Eric Guthrie

PK Connor Barth Kai Forbath

KO Michael Koenen Connor Barth

H Michael Koenen

LS Andrew Economos Andrew DePaola

PR Preston Parker Sammie Stroughter

KR Preston Parker Sammie Stroughter

[Last modified: Tuesday, August 7, 2012 9:38am]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours