Make us your home page

Bucs Beat

Rick Stroud, Greg Auman and Matt Baker

Bucs Morris finishes second to Patriots Belichick in NFL Coach of the Year voting



Only three-time Super Bowl champion coach Bill Belichick did a better job than Bucs coach Raheem Morris in 2010.

Morris, who directed the biggest turnaround in the league this season, going from 3-13 to 10-6, finished second to Belichick in the Associated Press NFL Coach of the Year voting announced Wednesday.

It's the third time the honor has been bestowed on Belichick, who received 30 votes from a panel of 50 media members who regularly cover the league.

Morris, in only his second season as head coach, finished second with 11 1/2 votes. The Chiefs Todd Haley was third with 4 1/2 votes.

The Falcons Mike Smith, the Bears Lovie Smith, the Eagles Andy Reid and the Rams Steve Spagnuolo had one vote each.

Belichick won an NFL-best 14 games in the regular season before falling to the New York Jets in the divisional round of the playoff despite difficult circumstances.

[Last modified: Thursday, February 3, 2011 3:21pm]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours