Make us your home page

Bucs Beat

Rick Stroud, Greg Auman and Matt Baker

Bucs shut out at Pro Bowl



Despite winning the NFC South for the second time in three seasons, and despite a scoring defense tied for No.1 in the league, the Bucs did not have a single player on the 2008 Pro Bowl roster announced this afternoon.

Tampa Bay is the only division winner in either conference not represented.

The last time the Bucs did not have a player voted to the Pro Bowl was 1995. Though it is still possible for players to be selected as alternates, the snub could end the team-record streak of 10 straight Pro Bowls for linebacker Derrick Brooks and three straight for cornerback Ronde Barber.

Brooks participated in the 2007 game as an alternate.

Players named to the NFC squad at those positions:

Outside linebacker - Starters Julian Peterson (Seattle) and DeMarcus Ware (Dallas), plus reserve Lance Briggs (Chicago);

Cornerback - Starters Al Harris (Green Bay) and Marcus Trufant (Seattle), plus reserve Terence Newman (Dallas).

[Last modified: Wednesday, May 26, 2010 2:54pm]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours