Make us your home page

Bucs Beat

Rick Stroud, Greg Auman and Matt Baker

NFL alumni award for Aqib Talib



This is a couple of days late, but it's worth noting Bucs cornerback Aqib Talib was awarded the NFL Alumni's defensive back of the year, announced during a ceremony on Friday evening.

The award recipients are chosen by a majority vote of the association's membership. Talib went on injured reserve after just 12 games but still tied for fith in the NFL with six interceptions.

Among the other winners was Todd Haley as coach of the year (an award that Raheem Morris could make a case for) and Troy Polamalu as player of the year.

Here's the full list of winners:

Quarterback - Philip Rivers, Chargers

Running back – Maurice Jones-Drew, Jaguars

Wide Receiver – Roddy White, Falcons

Tight End – Jason Witten, Cowboys

Offensive Line – Josh Sitton, Packers

Defensive Lineman – Ndamukong Suh, Lions

Linebacker – Patrick Willis, 49ers

Defensive Back – Aqib Talib, Bucs

Special Teams – Devin Hester, Bears

Spirit Award – Felix Jones, Cowboys

Coach of the Year – Todd Haley, Chiefs

Player of the Year – Troy Polamalu, Steelers

[Last modified: Monday, February 7, 2011 11:39am]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours