Make us your home page

Bucs Beat

Rick Stroud, Greg Auman and Matt Baker

Raheem Morris is putting replay controversy behind him



Tampa Bay Buccaneers head coach Raheem Morris said Monday he has moved on from the replay reversal that led to a Dolphins touchdown near the end of the first half of Sunday's 25-23 loss in Miami.

Bucs receiver Michael Clayton appeared to make an 11-yard catch at the Tampa Bay 15 with 1:43 remaining in the half. After Clayton's body hit the ground, the ball squirted out and into the hands of Miami's Jason Taylor.
On-field officials called the pass incomplete. But a booth review overturned the call, ruling that Clayton didn't maintain possession after he hit the ground. Taylor was awarded an interception.

Morris received an unsportsmanlike conduct penalty for arguing the call, setting up the Dolphins at the Bucs' 8-yard line. Two plays later, Kory Sperry's 5-yard touchdown catch gave Miami a 16-6 lead.

"I made my mistake, I cost my team a loss yesterday, gave them a penalty, moved them seven yards closer and those guys went and scored,'' Morris said during his weekly news conference at One Buc Place. "I'm done with it. I've got to grow up in that situation and get better. I can't cuss at the official. Besides the point you can't cuss at the official, I've got kids watching. I've got to control my anger in that situation a little bit as well."

Morris said only that the Bucs submitted their questions about the game to the NFL, as they do every week, and await a response from the league.

"For me, I just chose to control what I can control, and that's not one of them,'' Morris said. "I've moved on.''

Asked whether additional looks at the play helped him understand referee Tony Corrente's decision, Morris declined to say.

"You know I can't comment,'' Morris said. "Any comment is the wrong comment. No, I can't control that so I'm not going to even try to. I'm going to coach the stuff that I can control this week, and the stuff that I can control is not fumbling the snap, not dropping a shotgun pass, not catching the ball in the back of the end zone, running the correct routes. Those things, I'm going to coach those things, and that's where I'm at. (The call)'s out of my control, that's out of our team's hands. That's in the hands of the officials, they made their call and it is what it is. We're done with it."

[Last modified: Wednesday, May 26, 2010 3:48pm]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours