Make us your home page

Bucs Beat

Rick Stroud, Greg Auman and Matt Baker

Ronde Barber named Bucs' Ed Block Award winner



Bucs cornerback Ronde Barber, by a vote of his teammates, has been named the winner of the Bucs’ Ed Block Courage Award.

Each team votes on a winner who deserves the award for a variety of reasons. Oftentimes, winners are those who overcame a serious injury or personal challenges. But in the case of players like Barber, the honor can be warranted just for general professionalism and sportsmanship.

According to the organizers, recipients are “those National Football League players who exemplify commitments to the principles of sportsmanship and courage. . . The Ed Block Courage Award recipient symbolizes professionalism, great strength and dedication. He is also a community role model.”

The Ed Block Courage Award Foundation invites each winner to a fundraising banquet in Baltimore in March where they are honored.

Last season, Bucs players voted running back Earnest Graham the winner. He returned to finish the season strong despite his mother’s death at midseason following a long bout with cancer. Her death took an obvious toll on the veteran.

[Last modified: Monday, January 9, 2012 5:01pm]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours