Clear94° WeatherClear94° Weather

Bucs Beat

Rick Stroud, Greg Auman and Matt Baker

Talib has verbal confrontation with NFL official following loss to Ravens

28

November

Bucs cornerback Aqib Talib had a verbal confrontation with an NFL official on his way to the locker room Sunday following the Bucs' 17-10 loss to the Baltimore Ravens.

Talib expressed his displeasure with a second quarter penalty on Bucs rookie cornerback Myron Lewis, who was flagged for pass interference on T.J. Houshmandzadeh by field judge Borris Cheek. The 24-yard penalty set up a 10-yard touchdown pass from Ravens quarterback Joe Flacco to Derrick Mason on the next play and gave the Baltimore a 17-3 halftime lead.

An unidentified member of referee Carl Cheffers crew responded to Talib by saying, "You play like a p----.''

Talib, who was restrained by teammates, responded by telling the official,"I'll (hit) you in your b---- a-- mouth.' Talib would not talk to reporters following the game Sunday.

Talib wasn't the only one who wasn't pleased with Cheek's call. As halftime ended, Bucs coach Raheem Morris sprinted across the field to seek an explanation from Cheek. He was told that Lewis used an arm bar to gain an advantage on Houshmandzadeh.

"I'd call it asking an explanation,'' Morris said of his discussion at halftime. "I disagreed with it at the time. But it is what it is. My opinion doesn't matter ion that case. The call was made, you've got to move on and get ready to play. That's what we did.''

Morris was unaware of the verbal altercation with Talib and an unidentified African American member of Cheffers' crew after the game.

"I don't think this is called an altercation,'' Morris said. "It's called people communicating after the game. That's all they are.

"I don't know what language you're talking about...if an official uses improper language then that's an official's deal. The guy I talked with, we had a conversation about what he thought he saw and we had a healthy conversation on the way out, too. You know me. I don't talk about calls. I talk to my officials about them.''

Cheffers declined comment on the incident to a pool reporter.

"We only make comments to the pool reporter when it's about a call that was made on the field,'' Cheffers said. "So, we have no comment about whatever you're talking about. That's the only thing I'll say right now. We have no comment about it. If you want to ask us about something that happened out on the field, we will entertain that. But we're not going to entertain what you're talking about.''
 

[Last modified: Sunday, November 28, 2010 8:52pm]

    

Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours

Loading...