Make us your home page

Big East puts three baseball teams in NCAAs

Three Big East teams -- Louisville, Connecticut and tournament champion St. John's -- will represent the conference in the NCAA Tournament, matching the league's biggest NCAA contingent ever.

Louisville is a top-eight seed as the No. 7 seed in the tournament, and Connecticut is also hosting a four-team regional while making its first appearance since 1994. St. John's is in the tournament for the third time in four years after winning its first Big East tournament in 13 years on Sunday.

In all, the state of Florida had six teams make the NCAA field: Florida, Florida State and Miami, as well as Florida Atlantic, Florida International and Bethune-Cookman. The Big East also had three teams in the NCAAs in 1999, 2000, 2001 and 2007.

USF went 4-15 against teams that made the NCAA field, its wins coming against Mercer (2-1), Connecticut (1-2) and St. John's (1-3). The Bulls also faced Louisville (0-1), Florida (0-4), Miami (0-2) and Oklahoma (0-2).

[Last modified: Friday, July 16, 2010 11:25am]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours