Make us your home page

Bradley, Guyton lead first Hall of Fame class

USF's athletic department made a surprise announcement at Saturday night's annual fund-raising auction, unveiling the inaugural inductees into the athletic program's new Hall of Fame.

Basketball greats Charlie Bradley and Wanda Guyton will be formally inducted during a ceremony on Sept. 17, as well as former athletic director Dick Bowers, rifle All-American Michelle Scarborough, and the entire 1984-85 national champion Bulls women's swim team.

"This group represented the University of South Florida with class in all endeavours, while bringing prestige and pride to the USF athletics department through their success in the athletic realm," Hall of Fame executive committee chair Lee Roy Selmon said in a statement. "Their accomplishments while competing for the Green and Gold were nothing short of remarkable."

Bradley, the first USF basketball player to have his jersey retired, is the Bulls' career men's scoring leader with 2,319 points, including 24 games of 30 or more points. He led the Bulls to the postseason NIT in 1983 and 1985.

Guyton, who left USF as the school's all-time leading scorer, still holds 10 career records for the Bulls, and went on to win two WNBA championships and played professionally overseas. Bowers, who died in November 2007, was USF's athletic director from 1966-82, helping establish the Sun Belt conference and setting in motion most of the sports now comprising USF's athletic department. Scarborough was a four-time All-American and two-time national champion in the rifle.

USF's first national championship came in swimming in 1984-85, with five individual national champions and two more in relays under head coach Bill Mann. The 10 swimmers -- Nancy Bercaw, Suzanne Crenshaw, Susan Duncan, Merit Greaves, Tracey Hayes, Dawn Hewitt, Alicia McHugh, Margaret Mortell, Julie Muller and Joni Troupe -- combined for 35 All-America honors in 1985 alone.

USF received more than 40 nominations for the inaugural class, and these inductees will be honored at the Pepin Center in Tampa on Sept. 17.

[Last modified: Thursday, May 27, 2010 6:25pm]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours