Make us your home page

Five Bulls (not B.J.) on Phil Steele All-Big East team

It's always a good conversation piece for the long summer doldrums in college football: Phil Steele has released his 2012 All-Big East preseason teams, which painstakingly go to a 4th team, always impressive in an eight-team league.


Five Bulls make his preseason first team -- receiver Sterling Griffin, tackle Mark Popek, defensive end Ryne Giddins, linebacker DeDe Lattimore and kicker Maikon Bonani. Quarterback B.J. Daniels did not get the first-team nod, with Louisville sophomore Teddy Bridgewater pushing Daniels to the second team.

Joining Daniels on the second team: running back Demetris Murray, tight end Evan Landi, tackle Quinterrius Eatmon, defensive tackle Cory Grissom, linebacker Mike Lanaris and cornerback Kayvon Webster. On the third team are guard Danous Estenor, defensive tackle Elkino Watson, linebacker Sam Barrington (!) and safety Jon Lejiste. And yes, the fourth-teamers: receiver Chris Dunkley, defensive end Julius Forte and punt returner Victor Marc (!).

Thoughts? Comments? Who's been snubbed? Overrated? Here's the full list from Phil Steele's website.

[Last modified: Tuesday, May 22, 2012 12:21am]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours