Make us your home page

Freshman Collins earns Bulls' team MVP



USF's men's basketball team looked back on a historic season Wednesday night, saying goodbye to its senior leaders and giving its team MVP to freshman point guard Anthony Collins.

The team's postseason banquet at the Hyatt Regency in downtown Tampa had ESPN's Fran Fraschilla as a guest, and coach Stan Heath took time to talk about each player and how they contributed to USF's first NCAA Tournament appearance in 20 years, as well as the first two NCAA wins in the program's history.

Collins, who sparked the Bulls with his poise, passing and clutch shooting, took home the MVP and free-throw awards, while nearly all the team's contributors took home some kind of hardware. Senior Hugh Robertson was the Defensive Player of the Year, junior Toarlyn Fitzpatrick earned the team's academic award and the Chairman of the Boards honor, sophomore Victor Rudd was named Most Improved, junior Shaun Noriega was Mr. Clutch, junior Jawanza Poland was Mr. Highlight, senior Ron Anderson got the Bull Pride Award and senior Augustus Gilchrist earned the Chris Howard Perseverance Award.

A highlight video showed the team's incredible run to a 12-6 Big East record and an NCAA at-large bid, including the very moment the team celebrated the news during the NCAA selection show. There were highlights from the team's NCAA wins against California and Temple and a farewell to the Bulls' seniors.

[Last modified: Wednesday, April 18, 2012 11:53pm]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours