Make us your home page

Grothe named to Maxwell watch list



USF sophomore quarterback Matt Grothe is one of 65 players named to the watch list for the Maxwell Award, given to college football's most outstanding player.

Grothe, last year's Big East Rookie of the Year, is the first USF player named to the Maxwell list. Notre Dame quarterback Brady Quinn won the award in 2006. He's one of only 10 sophomores on the list, and one of five players from Florida schools, joining FSU receiver Greg Carr and Florida's Percy Harvin, Andre Caldwell and Tim Tebow.

He's also one of eight Big East players on the watch list, with Rutgers running back Ray Rice, West Virginia's Steve Slaton and Pat White, Louisville quarterback Brian Brohm and receivers Harry Douglas and Mario Urrutia and Pittsburgh receiver Derek Kinder.

[Last modified: Thursday, May 27, 2010 11:30am]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours