Make us your home page

WLWL: Grothe on O'Brien ... and more



Just when you think we're free and clear, the Watch List Watch List gets another update, as USF quarterback Matt Grothe is on the list for the Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award, which honors  ... yes, college football's top quarterback. We're impressed, too, because the O'Brien list is supermodel thin compared to most, a slender 31 names on the initial offering.

Joining Grothe on the Baskin-Robbins of quarterbacks? There's a strong Florida contingent, with three other passers honored: Florida's Tim Tebow, Florida State's Drew Weatherford and Florida Atlantic's Rusty Smith. The Big East is well-represented as well, with West Virginia's Pat White, Rutgers' Mike Teel and Louisville's Hunter Cantwell on the list.

-- USF announced Thursday that road-game tickets can be reserved starting at midnight tonight, and here's the link to the official site. Tickets will be distributed based on a points system to season ticket holders, alumni and boosters, with allocations announced on July 29. There's a max of four tickets per account holder for three games -- Central Florida, Florida International and West Virginia -- while the other three games have a limit of eight per account. The FIU is a tough ticket because FIU Stadium only seats 18,000 and it's the first-ever game in the new stadium, so it'd be crazy if it didn't sell out.

-- You guys won't be able to give the Times' Brian Landman any grief this fall for where USF is on his ballot. The AP has rotated its pool of top-25 voters, and the state has three voters: the Tampa Tribune's Brett McMurphy, the Gainesville Sun's Robbie Andreu and Tallahassee Democrat sports editor Jim Lamar.

[Last modified: Thursday, May 27, 2010 12:35pm]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours