Make us your home page

Women's Final Four returning to Tampa?



Just seven months after hosting the Women's Final Four, the city of Tampa will learn today if it has been chosen to host the NCAA event again in 2014, 2015 or 2016.

The NCAA will announce at 3:30 p.m. the hosts for five Women's Final Fours -- from 2012-16. Tampa cannot host the 2012 event because the city is already hosting the "Frozen Four" -- the final weekend of the NCAA hockey championships. New Orleans has been awarded the 2013 Final Four, according to the New Orleans Times-Picayune.

Of the other six finalists, Columbus will not be hosting any of the five years, according to the Columbus Dispatch. That leaves Tampa, Dallas, San Antonio, Denver, Nashville and Indianapolis competing for four events. San Antonio and Indianapolis are already hosting the event in 2010 and 2011, respectively, and Dallas, Denver and Nashville have never hosted. Under an agreement with the NCAA, Indianapolis hosts one men's and women's Final Four in each five-year period.

Tampa is hosting this year's ACC football championship on Dec. 6, the upcoming Super Bowl in February and the SEC men's basketball tournament in March. The St. Pete Times Forum hosted the ACC men's basketball tournament, the first round of the NCAA men's basketball tournament and the Women's Final Four this past spring. Future events include the 2009 NCAA volleyball championships and the 2012 NCAA hockey "Frozen Four."

We'll have an update as soon as we get a confirmation on if and when the Women's Final Four will return to Tampa.

[Last modified: Thursday, May 27, 2010 1:14pm]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours