Make us your home page

Sunshine State Report

The latest on college sports in Florida

College football watch list season begins with a curious typo



College football's award watch list season has begun. Hooray.

The Maxwell Award (best player) and Bednarik Award (best defensive player) both announced their players to watch Monday morning. Notables include...

Maxwell Award
USF quarterback Quinton Flowers
Florida State quarterback Deondre Francois
Rutgers receiver Janarion Grant (Pasco High)
West Virginia quarterback Will Grier (former Gator)
FSU safety Derwin James
Miami running back Mark Walton
Florida's Malik Zaire*
*The watch list put Zaire as a receiver, not a quarterback. So either they know something we don't...or it's a typo. Gotta be a typo. Right? Unless Feleipe Franks is the answer at quarterback, and Zaire is just an intriguing athlete for special packages. But it's probably a typo. 

Bednarik Award
UF cornerback Duke Dawson
UCF linebacker Shaquem Griffin (Lakewood High)
FSU safety Derwin James
UF defensive lineman Cece Jefferson
FSU cornerback Tarvarus McFadden
USF cornerback Deatrick Nichols
FSU defensive tackle Derrick Nnadi
Miami defensive lineman Kendrick Norton
Miami linebacker Shaq Quarterman
FSU linebacker Matthew Thomas

[Last modified: Monday, July 10, 2017 10:43am]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours