Make us your home page

Sunshine State Report

The latest on college sports in Florida

Alex Brown, Udonis Haslem lead newest group of Florida Hall of Fame inductees



Former Florida All-American DE Alex Brown and All-SEC and current NBA basketball player Udonis Haslem are among eight former Gators announced today as the 2012 UF Athletic Hall of Fame inductees.

The 2012 class includes seven Gator Greats and one Distinguished Letterwinner who will join the 367 existing UF Hall of Famers next spring. The 2012 UF Athletic Hall of Fame Induction Banquet will be held on Friday, April 6, 2012, in the Holloway Touchdown Terrace at Ben Hill Griffin Stadium.

"I have no words to describe how I feel about being inducted into UF HoF but it's probably the best honor I have ever received!,'' Brown wrote on his Twitter account.

This year's inductees are: Brown (Football), Hazel Clark Riley (Women's Track & Field), Kristen Guise Lee (Gymnastics), Haslem (Men's Basketball), Jeff Morrison (Men's Tennis), Stephanie Nickitas (Women's Tennis) and Abby Wambach (Soccer). Larry Travis (Football) will be inducted into the UF Athletic Hall of Fame as a Distinguished Letterwinner.

Each year, the F Club Committee selects members to the Hall of Fame, divided into three different categories: Gator Greats, Distinguished Letterwinners and Honorary Letterwinners. Gator Greats are letterwinners who have brought recognition and prominence to the university and themselves by athletic accomplishments as a student-athlete. Distinguished Letterwinners are former student-athletes who have made major contributions to the university's athletic program through personal time, effort, interest and many years of continued service. They also have distinguished themselves as exceptional in their chosen field of endeavor. There were no 2012 inductees selected for the Honorary Letterwinner category.

Check out short bios of each inductee:


Alex Brown (Football, 1998-01): A member of 2000 SEC Championship Team...A 1999 and 2001 First Team All-American selection...The 2001 SEC Defensive Player of the Year...UF's career sacks leader (33-Career, 13-Season).

Hazel Clark Riley (Women's Track & Field, 1996-99): Three-time NCAA Champion (Indoor Mile -1998 & 1999, Outdoor Mile - 1998)...13-time All-American...15-time All-SEC selection...Notched 56 collegiate victories...Member of 2000, 2004 & 2008 United States Olympic Teams.

Kristen Guise Lee (Gymnastics, 1993-96): Eleven-time All-American (Tied with Chrissy Van Fleet for most in UF History)...1996 SEC Gymnast of the Year...1996 runner-up at NCAA Championships all-around competition...1994 female recipient of the Ben Hill Griffin Award.

Udonis Haslem (Men's Basketball, 1999-02):Member of 2000 NCAA runner-up team...Member of 2000 & 2001 SEC Championship Teams...A First Team All-SEC selection in both 2001 & 2002...Led the SEC in field-goal percentage in 2001.

Jeff Morrison (Men's Tennis, 1997-00): The 1999 NCAA Singles Champion...A 1999 and 2000 All-America selection...The 1999 SEC Player of the Year...Ranked #1 in UF history in single-season wins.

Stephanie Nickitas (Women's Tennis, 1998-01): The 1996 & 1997 NCAA doubles champion...A six-time All-American...A four-time collegiate Grand Slam champion ... A member of the 1996 & 1998 NCAA Championship Teams and four SEC Championship Teams...UF posted a 120-3 record during her career ... A two-time first-team Academic All-American ... Winner of NCAA Today's Top VIII Award.

Abby Wambach (Soccer, 1998-01): A four-time All-American...The 2000 & 2001 SEC Player of the Year...Member  of two Collegiate Cup teams, including the 1998 NCAA Championship Team...Member of the 2003, 2007, & 2011 United States World Cup Teams...Member of the 2004 Olympic Gold Medal Team...The all-time U.S. World Cup goal scorer.


Larry Travis (Football, 1960-62): A two-way player at Florida...UF Assistant Football Coach 1963-66...Nineteen-year college football coaching career (Florida, Kansas, Ole Miss, Louisville, Georgia Tech)...An Associate Athletic Director at both Georgia Tech and the U.S. Naval Academy...Also the Athletic Director at Kansas State and Western Carolina...Currently the mayor of High Springs, Fla.


[Last modified: Wednesday, September 7, 2011 5:49pm]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours