Mostly Cloudy57° FULL FORECASTMostly Cloudy57° FULL FORECAST
Make us your home page

Sunshine State Report

The latest on college sports in Florida

Calathes, Walker receive postseason honors



Sophomore guard Nick Calathes was a First-Team All SEC selection, and freshman guard Erving Walker was named to the league's All-Freshman team, the league office announced Tuesday morning.

Calathes, the Gators' leading scorer with 18.4 ppg in conference play, was a unanimous selection to the team.

Walker is averaging 9.8 points and nearly 24 minutes per game.

Calathes is joined on the first team with: Kentucky's Jodie Meeks and Patrick Patterson, LSU's Tasmin Mitchell and Marcus Thornton, Jarvis Varnado of Mississippi State, Devan Downey of South Carolina and Tennessee's Tyler Smith.

Here is a list of the other awards:

Second Team All-SEC

Alonzo Gee, Alabama – G, 6-6, 219, Sr., Riviera Beach, Fla.

Michael Washington, Arkansas – F, 6-9, 239, Jr., McGehee, Ark.

Korvotney Barber, Auburn – F, 6-7, 225, Sr., Manchester, Ga.

^Garrett Temple, LSU – G, 6-6, 190, Sr., Baton Rouge, La.

David Huertas, Ole Miss – G, 6-5, 200, Jr., Humacao, Puerto Rico

Terrico White, Ole Miss – G, 6-5, 211, Fr,. Memphis, Tenn.

^Dominique Archie, South Carolina – F, 6-7, 200, Jr., Augusta, Ga.

^Zam Fredrick, South Carolina – G, 6-0, 203, Sr., St. Matthews, S.C.

Wayne Chism, Tennessee – F, 609, 242, Jr., Jackson, Tenn.

A.J. Ogilvy, Vanderbilt – C, 6-11, 250, So., Sydney, Australia

SEC All-Freshman Team

*JaMychal Green, Alabama – F, 6-9, 220, Fr., Montgomery, Ala.

Courtney Fortson, Arkansas – G, 5-11, 180, Fr., Montgomery, Ala.

Erving Walker, Florida – 5-8, 161, Fr., New York, N.Y.

Trey Thompkins, Georgia – F, 6-8, 245, Fr., Lithonia, Ga.

*Terrico White, Ole Miss – G, 6-5, 211, Fr,. Memphis, Tenn.

*Dee Bost, Mississippi State – G, 6-2, 170, Fr., Concord, N.C.

Scotty Hopson, Tennessee – G, 6-7, 185, Fr., Hopkinsville, Ky.

Jeffery Taylor, Vanderbilt – G/F, 6-7, 210, Fr., Norrkoping, Sweden

SEC All-Defensive Team

^Quantez Robertson, Auburn – G, 6-3, 200, Sr., Cincinnati, Ohio

Garrett Temple, LSU – G, 6-6, 190, Sr., Baton Rouge, La.

Chris Johnson, LSU – C, 6-11, 210, Sr., Montross, Va.

*Jarvis Varnado, Mississippi State – F/C, 6-9, 210, Jr., Brownsville, Tenn.

^Dominique Archie, South Carolina – F, 6-7, 200, Jr., Augusta, Ga.

Devan Downey, South Carolina – G, 5-9, 175, Jr., Chester, S.C.

SEC Coach of the Year: Trent Johnson, LSU

SEC Player of the Year: Marcus Thornton, LSU

SEC Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Justin Knox, Alabama

SEC Freshman of the Year: Terrico White, Ole Miss

SEC Sixth-Man of the Year: Brandis Raley-Ross, South Carolina

SEC Defensive Player of the Year: Jarvis Varnado, Mississippi State

*Unanimous selection

[Last modified: Wednesday, May 26, 2010 12:49pm]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours