Make us your home page

Sunshine State Report

The latest on college sports in Florida

College Hall of Fame inductee Carlos Alvarez to be honored at Saturday's game



The University of Florida and the National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame will honor former Gator Carlos Alvarez during Saturday night's game against Alabama as part of the Hall of Fame's On-Campus Salute program.

Alvarez is a 2011 College Hall of Fame inductee.

The NFF Hall of Fame On-Campus Salute program is a tradition that began with the inaugural class in 1951, and has continued as one of the many activities honoring inductees. During the NFF Hall of Fame On-Campus Salutes, each inductee returns to his alma mater to accept a Hall of Fame plaque that will remain on permanent display at the institution. The events take place on the field during a home game.

A first-ballot inductee, Alvarez played for the Gators from 1969-71. During his sophomore year he set single-season records for receptions (88), yards (1,329) and touchdown catches (12). His performance made him the youngest player ever to become an AFCA First Team All-America selection. The two-time All-SEC pick ranks second in school history with 172 career grabs, holds the Florida's all-time mark with 2,563 receiving yards and places among the top ten with 19 touchdown catches. He also holds the school record with 25 consecutive games with a reception.

"Carlos Alvarez's blazing speed helped him shatter the record books while allowing the Gators to crush their opponents," NFF President & CEO Steve Hatchell said in a statment. "And he extended his tireless work ethic to his academic life. His post-collegiate accomplishments serve as prime example of football's unique ability to produce our next generation of great leaders. We are thrilled that he is a member of the 2011 class, and we look forward to celebrating his accomplishments with the Gator fans on October 1."

Alvarez is now an attorney in Tallahassee. He is the sixth Gator player to enter college football's Hall of Fame, joining Wilber Marshall (2008), Emmitt Smith (2006), Steve Spurrier (1986), Jack Youngblood (1992), and Dale Van Sickel (1975). Florida's Hall of Fame coaches are Doug Dickey (2003), Ray Graves (1990) and Charlie Bachman (1978).


[Last modified: Tuesday, September 27, 2011 10:33am]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours