Make us your home page

Sunshine State Report

The latest on college sports in Florida

Fans to be allowed a vote for O'Brien Award



GAINESVILLE - Think Tim Tebow is the best quarterback in the country?

Then you'll get an opportunity to cast your vote on that matter beginning this weekend.

Starting Sept. 2, fans will be allowed to cast their votes for the Davey O'Brien award, given out to the
nation’s best college quarterback of the year.

Fans will get the opportunity to cast their vote for the starting quarterback from any of the 119 Division I-A football programs across the country. The fan voting component leaves room for an athlete who was not placed on the original watch list to win the award.

The top three fan vote getters will be added to the semifinalist list which will then be narrowed to two finalists and an eventual overall winner. The fan vote will count for 5% of the total and the winner will
be announced on The Home Depot College Football Awards Show on ESPN on Dec. 6.

Fans may cast their vote for their favorite starting quarterback once daily on The O’Brien’s official website,

The O’Brien Award becomes just the second award in college football that fans are able to vote for. Prior to this year fan’s were only able to vote for the winner of the Heisman Memorial Trophy.

[Last modified: Wednesday, May 26, 2010 12:19pm]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours