Make us your home page

Sunshine State Report

The latest on college sports in Florida

Five Gators among finalists for six national awards



Hernandez,_Aaron_08Miami_02_(casey) Florida QB Tim Tebow, senior LB Brandon Spikes, junior CB Joe Haden, junior TE Aaron Hernandez and junior punter Chas Henry are all among the finalists for six different national awards.

Tebow is a finalist for the Maxwell Award for the nation's best all-around player, and for the Davey O'Brien award for the nation's best quarterback.

Spikes is among three finalists for the Chuck Bednarik Award for best defensive player, joining Terrence Cody of Alabama and Ndamukong Suh of Nebraska.

Hernandez joins Dorin Dickerson of Pittsburgh and Dennis Pitta of BYU as finalists for the John Mackey Award for the nation's best tight end.

Henry is up for the Ray Guy Award, along with Georgia's Drew Butler and Zoltan Mesko of Michigan.

Haden, Tennessee's Eric Berry and Earl Thomas of Texas are all finalists for the Jim Thorpe Award.

Other finalists for the O'Brien Award are Case Keenum of Houston and Colt McCoy of Texas. Joining Tebow on the list for the Maxwell Award is Mark Ingram of Alabama and McCoy.

The winners will be announced at the Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards on Dec. 10 at the Atlantic Dance Hall at Disney’s BoardWalk at the Walt Disney World Resort in Lake Buena Vista.

[Last modified: Wednesday, May 26, 2010 1:29pm]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours