Make us your home page

Sunshine State Report

The latest on college sports in Florida

Florida Gators coach Will Muschamp named SEC Co-Coach of the Year



One day after seven Florida players were selected to the All-SEC team, Florida coach Will Muschamp has been named the SEC Co-Coach of the Year.

He shares the honor with Texas A&M coach Kevin Sumlin.  The two were recognized for the award by the league's coaches.

In his second season, Muschamp led the Gators to an 11-1 season, after going just 7-6 in his inaugural year. Florida will play Louisville in the Sugar Bowl on Jan. 2.

Gators senior kicker Caleb Sturgis was named SEC Co-Special Teams Player of the Year, along with South Carolina return specialist Ace Sanders.

TAMU QB Johnny Manziel was named the SEC Player of the Year, the first freshman to earn that honor since Herschel Walker in 1980. He also becomes the first in league history to win both SEC Player and Freshman of the Year in the same season, as the league began naming a Freshman of the Year in 1986.

South Carolina DE Jadeveon Clowney is the SEC Defensive Player of the Year and Alabama's Barrett Jones is the league’s scholar-athlete of the year. TAMU's Luke Joeckel won the Jacobs Blocking Trophy.


[Last modified: Wednesday, December 5, 2012 4:38pm]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours