Make us your home page

Sunshine State Report

The latest on college sports in Florida

For Florida Gators quarterback Tim Tebow, ESPY is an honor



Quarterback Tim Tebow and incoming freshman wide receiver Andre Debose each won an ESPY award Wednesday night at the NOKIA Theatre in Los Angeles.

Tebow was named Best Male College Athlete. Debose was recognized for the Under Armour All-America Moment.

Tebow edged out Sam Bradford (Oklahoma, football), Matt Gilroy (Boston University, hockey), Blake Griffin (Oklahoma, basketball) and Stephen Strasburg (San Diego State, baseball) to become the only two-time winner of the Best Male College Athlete award. He also won in 2008.

"It truly is an honor to even be invited to an event like the ESPYs and be able to be in the same room with many athletes that I have the utmost respect for," said Tebow. "And then to be named the Best Male College Athlete, which was decided by the fans, makes this night even more memorable. I want to thank my teammates and coaches, but a special thank you goes out to the entire Gator Nation, the best fans in the country."

Tebow, who led the Gators to their second national title last season in three years, is the second Florida football player to win an ESPY. Quarterback and Heisman Trophy winner Danny Wuerffel, who also won a national title, was chosen Best College Football Player in 1997.

Debose was nominated alongside incoming LSU freshman quarterback Russell Shepard for the Under Armour All-America Moment. The duo hooked up for a 92-yard touchdown pass in the Under Armour All-American Game. Other nominees in this category were Jake Bernhardt (lacrosse), Tara Glover (softball), David Renfroe (baseball), Hannah Werth (volleyball).

The awards show will air on ESPN on Sunday, July 19.

[Last modified: Wednesday, May 26, 2010 1:06pm]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours