Make us your home page

Sunshine State Report

The latest on college sports in Florida

Florida gets 12 players on media's preseason All-SEC team



Defending national champion Florida placed a league-high 12 players on the All-SEC team chosen by the media on Friday, followed by eight for defending Western Division champs Alabama.

UF quarterback Tim Tebow and offensive linemen Mike and Maurkice Pouncey were first-team offensive selections. DL Carlos Dunlap, LB Brandon Spikes and DB Joe Haden were first-team defensive selections.

Tampa native and Alabama DB Javier Arenas was also a first-team selection. Arenas, a return specialits, was also selected on the second team on special teams.

Florida TE Aaron Hernandez was a second-team selection along with: DL Jermaine Cunningham, DB Ahmad Black and DB Major Wright. Punter Chas Henry and return specialist Brandon James were picked on the special teams first-team.

The Gators were also on all but one ballot as favored to win the SEC Championship in Atlanta. They were a unanimous choice to win the SEC Eastern Division. Florida is the first team to be a unanimous selection as a division champ since the league started divisional play in 1992.

Georgia was picked to finish second in the East, followed by South Carolina, Tennessee, Vanderbilt and Kentucky. In the Western Division, Alabama was picked to finish first, followed by LSU, Ole Miss, Arkansas, Auburn and Mississippi State.


[Last modified: Wednesday, May 26, 2010 1:07pm]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours