Make us your home page

Sunshine State Report

The latest on college sports in Florida

Florida Heisman Trophy winner Danny Wuerffel on College Football Hall of Fame ballot



Danny Wuerffel, the former Florida Heisman Trophy winner who led the Gators to their first football national championship, is among 76 players on the 2012 ballot for induction into the College Football Hall of FAme, the National Football Foundation (NFF) announced today.

The Hall of Fame Class will be announced live in New York City during a noon press conference on May 15, and those selected will be  -inducted at the 55th NFF Annual Awards Dinner on Dec. 4, 2012 at the Waldorf=Astoria Hotel in New York City.  Florida WR Carlos Alvarez was inducted in 2011.

"It's an enormous honor to just be on the ballot when you think that more than 4.86 million people have played college football," NFF President & CEO Steven J. Hatchell said. "The Hall's requirement of being a First Team All-American creates a much smaller pool of only 1,900 individuals who are even eligible to be on the ballot, so being in today's group of 76 names means an individual is truly among the greatest to ever have played the game, and we are proud to announce their names today." 

To be eligible for the ballot, players must have been named a First Team All-America by a major/national selector as recognized and utilized by the NCAA for their consensus All-America teams; played their last year of intercollegiate football at least ten years prior; played within the last 50 years and cannot be currently playing professional football. 

The full NFF Hall of Fame ballot.


[Last modified: Tuesday, February 28, 2012 3:04pm]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours