Make us your home page

Sunshine State Report

The latest on college sports in Florida

Florida kicker Jonathan Phillips named to Lou Groza Watch List



UF senior kicker Jonathan Phillips on Wednesday was named to the Lou Groza Award watch list, an award which recognizes the nation's most outstanding kicker.

Among others on the list are 2008 finalist Josh Arauco of Arkansas State and 2007 Lou Groza Award recipient Thomas Weber of Arizona State.

Florida’s Judd Davis won the Groza Award in 1993.

Nine 2008 semi-finalists are named to the list including seniors, Arauco, Leigh Tiffin of Alabama, Sam Glusman of Troy State and Phillips. The SEC has the most players on the list with five. The Big Ten and Big 12 each placed four kickers on the list.

The full list:

2009 Preseason Lou Groza Award Watch List
Josh Arauco, Arkansas State, Sr.
James Aho, New Mexico, So.
Matt Bosher, Miami, Jr.
Kyle Brotzman, Boise State, Jr.
Josh Czajkowski, North Carolina State, Jr.
Ross Evans, TCU, So.
Clark Fangmeier, Rice.
Kai Forbath, UCLA.
Sam Glusman, Troy.
Kevin Goessling, Fresno State.
Ben Hartman, East Carolina.
Alex Henery, Nebraska.
Hunter Lawrence, Texas.
Daniel Lincoln, Tennessee.
Nick Maggio, Duke.
Aaron Pettrey, Ohio State.
Jonathan Phillips, Florida.
Jake Rogers, Cincinnati.
Mike Salerno, Northern Illinois.
Joshua Shene, Ole Miss.
Alex Steigerwald, Toledo.
Jimmy Stevens, Oklahoma.
Brett Swenson, Michigan State.
Dave Teggart, Connecticut.
Leigh Tiffin, Alabama.
Brandon Walker, Notre Dame.
Blair Walsh, Georgia.
Thomas Weber, Arizona State.
Philip Welch, Wisconsin.
Carson Wiggs, Purdue.

[Last modified: Wednesday, May 26, 2010 1:10pm]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours