Make us your home page

Sunshine State Report

The latest on college sports in Florida

Florida lacrosse falls short in bid for first conference title with 10-9 loss to Northwestern

The American Lacrosse Conference championship trophy will remain at Northwestern. Florida entered the ALC finals on Saturday as the No. 1 seed, but fell short in a 10-9 loss to No. 2 seeded Northwestern at Vandderbilt University's Lacrosse Complex. With the win, Northwestern remains the lone conference champion in the 10-year history of the tournament. Florida led by three before Northwestern went on a 5-0 run to take a 10-8 lead with 2:22 remaining in the game. Gator attacker Ashley Bruns scored after causing a turnover from Rookie of the Year Alyssa Leonard but Florida gave up a critical possession with 1:15 remaining in the game to seal the win for Northwestern. Florida sophomores Emily Dohony, Sam Farrell and Janine Hillier were named to the 2011 ALC All-Tournament Team. The Gators now await news of where and whom they will play in the NCAA Tournament. The official NCAA Selection Show is at 7:30 p.m. tonight and will stream live on

[Last modified: Sunday, May 8, 2011 1:01am]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours