Make us your home page

Sunshine State Report

The latest on college sports in Florida

Florida women win SEC indoor track championship; men finish second



SECTRACKCHAMPS Florida track coach Mike Holloway said prior to the SEC Indoor Track and Field Championships that he was confident the group of athletes he was taking to Fayetteville, Ark. this past weekend had the capability of coming back home as SEC Indoor Track and Field champions.

It turns out, he was right.

The No. 3 Florida women's track and field team - aided by five individual titles - won the 2010 SEC Indoor Championship on Sunday, earning 28 points more than second-place finisher No. 6 Arkansas at the Randal Tyson Track Center at the University of Arkansas.

It was the first indoor league title for the Florida women since 2004, and their sixth in school history - the second most of any program in the SEC.

The UF women scored 110 total points to win the championship, while Arkansas finished second with 82 points and No. 5 LSU was third with 79.5 points. The Razorbacks won the men’s team title with 123 points, while the No. 4 Gators were second with 119 and No. 3 LSU placed third with 108.5.

“I am extremely proud of the Florida track and field program as a whole,” Holloway said. “I have an incredible coaching staff and they do a phenomenal job of making sure our athletes are prepared. We were very successful today, but we can’t rest on our laurels in this league.''
Sprinter Calvin Smith, of Lutz, had an outstanding competition Sunday. He competed in three events and finished as a part of two SEC championships. Smith,ran an NCAA automatic-qualifying time of 20.73 to claim the first SEC men’s indoor 200-meter dash championship in program history.

He also ran a 45.64 split on the anchor leg of Florida’s SEC Championship 4x400-meter relay team that finished in an NCAA automatic-qualifying time of 3:05.53. It was just shy of the team’s season-best time of 3:05.52 in the 4x400m, which also is the third-fastest time in school history.

Smith placed third overall in the men’s 400-meter dash in an NCAA automatic-qualifying time of 45.61 - a personal-best time that is the second-fastest time in school history.

Here are the Gators' SEC event champions:

• Charlotte Browning – Women’s Mile – 4:37.29

• Charlotte Browning – Women’s 3,000m – 9:21.77

• Mariam Kevkhishvili – Women’s Shot Put – 18.09m/59-4.25

• Kemal Mesic – Men’s Shot Put – 18.63m/61-1.25

• Shara Proctor – Women’s Long Jump – 6.47m/21-2.75

• Shara Proctor – Women’s Triple Jump – 13.48/44-2.75

• Calvin Smith – Men’s 200m – 20.73

• Christian Taylor – Men’s Triple Jump – 16.83m/55-2.75

• Men’s 4x400m Relay – 3:05.53


[Last modified: Wednesday, May 26, 2010 1:42pm]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours