Make us your home page

Sunshine State Report

The latest on college sports in Florida

Florida's Tebow, Charlie Strong finalists for national awards



Florida QB Tim Tebow is one of five finalists for the Walter Camp Player of the Year. He joins Oklahoma's Sam Bradford, Texas Tech's Graham Harrell and Michael Crabtree, and Texas quarterback Colt McCoy.

Tebow is a finalist for the award for the second straight year. He has led the Gators to an 11-1 record and a berth in this weekend’s SEC championship game. Tebow has thrown for 2,299 yards and 25 touchdowns, with just two interceptions, while rushing for 507 yards and 12 more scores. He had three games where he passed for two touchdowns and rushed for two as well.

Tebow is also one of 10 finalists for the Manning Award.

Strong, the Gators' defensive coordinator and associate head coach, has been named one of five finalists for the 2008 Broyles Award, given annually to the nation’s top assistant coach.

This is the second time that Strong has been named a finalist for the prestigious award. In 2000, he was nominated while serving as the defensive coordinator at South Carolina.

Strong’s defense has been one of the biggest strengths of the Gators all season. They currently rank in the top three in all major defensive categories in the SEC. Nationally, Strong’s unit ranks second in
passes intercepted (23), second in pass efficiency defense (93.66), fourth in scoring defense (12.3), fifth in red zone defense (.68) and seventh in total defense (275.67).

[Last modified: Wednesday, May 26, 2010 12:42pm]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours