Make us your home page

Sunshine State Report

The latest on college sports in Florida

Former Florida coach Urban Meyer picks Alabama to win the SEC



Former Florida coach Urban Meyer is among 13 ESPN analyts who have picked Alabama to win the SEC.

As part of ESPN's poll of its college football analysts, Meyer also picked Alabama and Oklahoma to play in the BCS National Championship game.

No. 6 Florida State was the favorite among the analysts in the ACC as well as No. 1 Oklahoma in the Big 12. Fourteen of the 18 analysts chose West Virginia to win the BIG EAST, Oregon in the Pac-12 and Alabama in the SEC. In the Big 10 Wisconsin had nine first-place selections.

2011 ESPN Analysts College Football Preseason Picks
Analyst               ACC            BIG EAST        Big Ten       Big 12             Pac-12         SEC                

Mike Bellotti         Florida State    West Virginia     Ohio St.   Oklahoma        Oregon       Alabama           

Todd Blackledge    Florida State   West Virginia    Ohio St.   Oklahoma        Oregon       South Carolina   

Lee Corso            Florida St.     West Virginia     Nebraska   Oklahoma      Stanford           LSU              

Ed Cunningham      Florida St.     West Virginia    Wisconsin   Texas A&M    USC*              LSU               

Bob Davie              Florida St.     West Virginia    Ohio St.     Texas A&M    Oregon           Alabama         

Rod Gilmore            Florida St.     West Virginia    Wisconsin     Oklahoma    Stanford         Alabama         

Brian Griese            Florida St.     West Virginia     Wisconsin     Oklahoma    Oregon          Alabama         

Dan Hawkins           Florida St.     West Virginia      Nebraska     Oklahoma    Oregon         Alabama         

Kirk Herbstreit         Florida St.       USF                Ohio St.      Oklahoma     Oregon        Alabama        

Desmond Howard     Florida St.       USF                Wisconsin    Oklahoma     Oregon        Alabama         

Brock Huard            Florida St.       West Virginia    Wisconsin    Oklahoma St. Stanford     Alabama         

Craig James             Florida St.       West Virginia    Nebraska    Oklahoma       Oregon      Alabama        

Danny Kanell            Florida St.        West Virginia   Wisconsin    Oklahoma       Oregon     Alabama        

Urban Meyer            Florida St.         USF               Ohio St.      Oklahoma      Oregon     Alabama        

Matt Millen              Virginia Tech     West Virginia    Wisconsin    Oklahoma      Oregon     Alabama        

Jesse Palmer            Florida St.        West Virginia    Nebraska     Oklahoma      Oregon     LSU              

David Pollack            Florida St.       West Virginia     Wisconsin    Oklahoma      Oregon    Alabama        

Chris Spielman          Virginia Tech     USF                Wisconsin    Oklahoma      Oregon    Alabama       

* - picked USC to have best conference-best record




[Last modified: Wednesday, August 31, 2011 3:34pm]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours