Make us your home page

Sunshine State Report

The latest on college sports in Florida

Former Gator Brad Wilkerson to be honored among SEC baseball legends



Former Florida baseball standout Brad Wilkerson is among the inagural class of the SEC Baseball Legends Program, the league office announced today.

The newest members will be honored during the SEC Baseball Tournament May 22-27 at Regions Park in Hoover, Ala. Each SEC Baseball Legend will have an on-field recognition and awards presentation by SEC commissioner Mike Slive on Saturday, May 26, during the semifinals of the SEC Tournament. Fans will have an opportunity for autographs and photos with the honorees on the concourse immediately following. The Legends will also participate in the annual SEC Youth Clinic on Friday morning.

“The SEC Baseball Legends allows us to honor the deep tradition and history of baseball in our league and show everyone why the SEC is the nation's premier baseball conference,” Slive said.

Wilkerson was a first basemen, pitcher and outfielder for the Gators from 1996-98. He was drafted as the 33rd pick in the first round of the 1998 First-Year Player Draft by the Montreal Expo. Wilkerson was the first three-time All-American in Florida school history and a finalist for the 1998 Golden Spikes Award.

He was named the 1998 Collegiate Player of the Year by the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association and won the Smith Award given to the National Collegiate Baseball Player of the Year as selected by CoSIDA. He was the first player in NCAA history to hit 20 home runs, win 10 games and steal 20 bases.

The 2012 class also includes Dr. Jeffrey Laubenthal, Alabama; Kevin McReynolds, Arkansas; Brad Wilkerson, Florida; Rev. Reggie Andrews, Georgia. Wilkerson, who will be the Gators’ first-ever inductee into the National College Baseball Hall of Fame this summer, will be in Gainesville this weekend for UF’s key series against Eastern Division rival Georgia. Four legends will be recognized each year, with representatives from Auburn, LSU, Kentucky and Missouri set to be honored in 2013.





[Last modified: Thursday, April 19, 2012 11:11am]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours