Make us your home page

Sunshine State Report

The latest on college sports in Florida

Former Gator Rex Grossman to be inducted in Florida Athletic Hall of Fame



Former Florida quarterback Rex Grossman is among nine who will be inducted into the Florida Athletic Hall of Fame, the athletic department announced today.

Grossman was the 2001 SEC Player of the Year and the first sophomore quarterback in school history to earn first-team All-America honors (2001). He was also the 2001 Heisman Trophy runner-up and the 2001 AP National Player of the Year.

The 2013 class includes seven Gator Greats, one Distinguished Letterwinner and one Honorary Letterwinner who will join the 375 existing UF Hall of Famers next spring. The 2013 UF Athletic Hall of Fame Induction Banquet will be held on Friday, April 5, 2013, in the Holloway Touchdown Terrace at Ben Hill Griffin Stadium.

Joining Grossman are: Jeff Davis (Wrestling), Josh Fogg (Baseball), Riko Higashio (Women's Golf), Heather Mitts (Soccer), Mike Pearson (Football) and Chrissy Van Fleet (Gymnastics). Former UF football player and assistant coach Larry Morris will be inducted into the UF Athletic Hall of Fame as a Distinguished Letterwinner and Ernestine Russell Weaver, longtime Gator gymnastics coach, will be UF's first Honorary Letterwinner since 2011.

Gator Greats are letterwinners who have brought recognition and prominence to the University and themselves by athletic accomplishments as a student-athlete. Distinguished Letterwinners are former student-athletes who have made major contributions to the university's athletic program through personal time, effort, interest and many years of continued service. They also have distinguished themselves as exceptional in their chosen field of endeavor.

An Honorary Letterwinners are coaches and athletic officials - after retirement - who were not letterwinners/athletes at the University of Florida.


[Last modified: Monday, September 10, 2012 1:11pm]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours