Make us your home page

Sunshine State Report

The latest on college sports in Florida

Former Gator Steve Tannen to be honored among SEC Legends



Former Florida DB Steve Tannen is among 14 former players who will be honored as part of the 2012 SEC Legends Football Class.

Tannen, who played from 1967-69, was a two-time All-SEC selection. Tannen was voted the top defensive back in league in 1969. He is one of ten players with 11-plus career interceptions for the Gators. He also returned two punts for touchdowns during his career and was known as a kick blocker on special teams, having blocked three in 1969. He blocked a punt which was returned for a touchdown in 14-13 win over Tennessee in the 1969 Gator Bowl. He was selected as a first-team All-American in 1969. 

Tannen was taken with the 20th selection in the first round of the 1970 NFL Draft by the New York Jets.  He played five seasons with the Jets, where he had 12 interceptions, two blocked field goals and a blocked punt.  Tannen graduated from Florida with a bachelor's degree in business administration in 1972, and was later inducted into the University of Florida Athletic Hall of Fame as a "Gator Great."

The SEC 2012 Football Legends Class includes former SEC stars who have made a name for themselves as great athletes on the playing field.  The conference announced the legends from its Eastern Division schools today and the Western Division schools on Friday.

This year’s class has Heisman Trophy winners, All-Americans, All-SEC and Academic All-Americans as well as NCAA and SEC record holders.  The group represents teams that won National and SEC Championships and are represented in state, school and National Football Foundation Halls of Fame.

The class will be honored at the 2012 SEC Football “Weekend of Champions” Nov. 30-Dec. 1 in Atlanta.

Here are the other legends from the SEC Eastern Division:

KENTUCKY – Sonny Collins, Running Back, 1972-75; MISSOURI – Johnny Roland, Defensive Back/Running Back/Kick Return, 1962, 64-65; SOUTH CAROLINA – Ko Simpson, Safety, 2004-05; TENNESSEE – Peerless Price, Wide Receiver, 1995-98; VANDERBILT – Hunter Hillenmeyer, Linebacker, 1999-2002.






[Last modified: Thursday, September 13, 2012 3:29pm]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours